Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

 

When did you last replace your helmet ? If you were going to buy a new one which one would you go for ?


Helmets, helmets, helmets. Although the majority of us wear them, do we replace them as often as we should ??

I know I don’t.

I have two helmets one with a peak which I ride the majority of the time in and one skull cap which I wore before I got the peak one and that I save for cross country. While I never ride without a helmet, only recently have I thought about the last time I replaced it. That was – I really needed to think about this one – about 6 years ago.

Having done a little bit of googling I came across a few articles (“When should I replace my helmet”Helmet storage and use and 10 Hard facts about riding hats ) which all seem to follow the same ideas for replacing riding hats.

The general rule seems to be if you haven’t had any falls then replace you helmet every five years. So with this in mind I definitely need to replace both of mine.

As I do want to event my mare at some point I am very aware that my replacement skull cap must comply with BE rules , although I really want to replace my peaked hat first  as I find them smarter when showjumping or dressage I should probably replace my skull. This is primary due to it being older than my peaked hat, but it does also mean that when I take my mare out cross country training or hopefully to a hunter trial in the summer and I won’t be worrying about the age or safety of the hat I am wearing.


Decisions, decisions

While both my riding hats are Champion I have come across gatehouse helmets which I do like the style of.

I haven’t made any decisions yet on which one I will buy, which probably means that it will be June before I buy a new helmet.  I’d love to hear what you guys think.

 

When did you last replace your helmet ? If you were going to buy a new one which one would you go for ?

 

 

 

